Connick, Jr., Harry - Harry for the Holidays

Harry Connick, Jr performs Christmas Music on this CD!

Reg. Price: $14.88
Our Price: $11.11
Remember: Free Shipping is available throughout USA!

Product Description  Click Here to Listen to Tracks      

Harry Connick, Jr.'s career has been studded with awards and recognition, including several multi-platinum and gold albums, Grammy and Emmy awards, a starring role in a Tony-winning Broadway musical and much more. A true American icon, there are few artists of Harry's stature, and fewer still with such a comprehensive span of the entire realm of entertainment.

Call him the retro Sinatra, the keeper of the big band flame, the swingin' piano man, but Harry Connick Jr., remains one of New Orleans' treasures. His second Christmas CD is as much a salute to his hometown musical roots as it is to the season. Filled with second-line arrangements and fierce horn charts that could blow all that holiday chill back to Canada, Connick's latest revisits upbeat standards such as ""Frosty The Snowman,"" ""Blue Christmas,"" ""Santa Claus Is Coming to Town,"" and others. Most swing and romp, but the hymns are given the reverential vocal treatment that Connick is known for on his more secular love ballads. Surprises include a quirky arrangement of ""Silver Bells,"" in what sounds all the world like a Henry Mancini score for an action film. And there's four Connick originals that don't quite match the level of the covers, except for what must be the oddest pairing of talents all season, the duet with country singer George Jones on ""Nothin' New For the New Year,"" an inspired tune and performance from two master stylists. There's nothing quite as lasting as the chestnut he penned on his first Christmas CD, ""I Pray on Christmas,"" but for fans, here's a merry Harry N'awlins holiday love fest. --Martin Keller

Not polka music

Track Listing:

1. Frosty The Snowman
2. Blue Christmas
3. The Christmas Waltz
4. I Wonder As I Wander
5. Silver Bells
6. Mary's Little Boy Child
7. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
8. The Happy Elf
9. I'll Be Home For Christmas
10. I Come With Love
11. Nature Boy
12. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
13. I'm Gonna Be The First One
14. This Christmas
15. Nothin' New For New Year
16. Silent Night
Artist: Harry Connick, Jr.

Email A Friend

Send this product to a friend...